Opportunity Scholarship Requirements


During the 2010 Legislative Session, a number of changes were made to the statutes that govern the Opportunity Scholarship.  Although funding for the program remained the same (legislation to prorate or use a different allocation formula failed to garner support), significant changes were made to the initial and continuing eligibility criteria.  Specifically, a new set of curriculum requirements apply to those students entering high school after July 2010, and students are now asked to meet credit hour thresholds each year rather than complete 15 credit hours each term.  For additional information about these changes to these two statutes, please follow the links below.




Contact Information

Natalie Nagle, MBA
Student Services Coordinator
South Dakota Board of Regents
306 East Capital Avenue, Suite 200 Pierre, SD 57501
Phone: 605-773-4573

Katie Maley, B.U.S
Senior Academic Affairs Coordinator

Initial Eligibility Contacts at Participating Institutions